# **ESCAP/WMO Typhoon Committee**

Forty-ninth Session 21- 24 February 2017 Yokohama, Japan FOR PARTICIPANTS ONLY WRD/TC.49/10 09 January 2017 ENGLISH ONLY

# **Appointment AWG Chair and Vice Chairs**

(Submitted by TCS)	

# **ACTION REQUIRED:**

The Committee is invited:

- a) To take note of the nominations of AWG Chair and Vice Chairs
- b) To appointment the AWG Chair and Vice Chairs

## **APPENDIXES**:

- 1) DRAFT TEXT FOR INCLUSION AT SESSION REPORT
- 2) Nominations of AWG Chair and Vice Chairs

# **APPENDIX A:**

# DRAFT TEXT FOR INCLUSION IN THE SESSION REPORT

- XX Appointment of AWG Chair and Vice Chairs (agenda item XX)
- XX.1 The Committee took note of the Terms of Reference of AWG and the nominations of AWG Chair and Vice Chairs.
- XX.2 The Committee approved Mr. Raymond TANABE from USA as the Chairperson of AWG; XXX from YYY and XXX, from YYY to serve as vice-chairpersons of AWG.
- XX.3 The Committee expressed highly appreciation to Edwin S. T. LAI from Hong Kong, China for his excellent contributions when he served as the Chair of AWG since the  $45^{th}$  Session of the Committee 2013.

(Additional text to be added in the light of discussion on this ite

### **APPENDIX B:**

# Nominations of AWG Chair and Vice Chair

According to the Terms of Reference of Advisory Working Group:

- The term of service of the Chair of the AWG is two years subject to extension authorized by the Committee. The limit of service for the Member providing the Chair shall be two consecutive terms.
- The term of service of the Vice-chair(s) of the AWG is two years subject to extension authorized by the Committee. The limit of service for the Vice-Chair(s) shall be three consecutive terms.

Mr. Edwin S. T. LAI has been served as the Chair of AWG from the  $45^{th}$  Session of the Committee 2013, and his term should be end at  $49^{th}$  Session.

Mr. Tom EVANS took over as vice-chair on the 47th Session, and his first term should be end at 49th Session.

Mr. Chiashi Muroi took place of Mr. Tsukasa Fujita as Vice-Chair on 47th Session, and his first term also should end at 49th Session.

The 48<sup>th</sup> Session of Typhoon Committee requested TCS, in consultation with AWG, to develop and send invitation letters to Members for nomination of AWG Chair and Vice-Chairs. The results of nomination are as follows.

#### AWG Chair Position:

• 2 nominations from Philippines and USA: Mr. Raymond TANABE

### AWG Vice-Chair Position:

- nominations from Japan and VietNam: Mr. Chiashi MUROI
- 1 nomination from Hong Kong, China: Mr. LEE Tsz-cheung
- 1 nomination from Vietnam: Mr. Jaehyun SHIM (if he is not appointed for AWG Chair)